Mochi Health is a four-year-old San Francisco telehealth company founded by Dr. Myra Ahmad, an obesity-medicine physician who graduated from the University of Washington School of Medicine in 2022. Its pricing model is simple: a $79 per month membership plus a flat $99 per month for compounded semaglutide or $199 per month for compounded tirzepatide, at every dose.12 For a patient paying out of pocket, the total of $178 per month for semaglutide is among the cheapest compounded-GLP-1 rates available in 2026.

The pricing is genuine. The rest of the picture is more complicated.

3.0 / 5
★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
HMI Editorial Rating
Proceed with significant caution
Category-leading flat-rate pricing at every dose, paired with a dual-subscription billing structure that drives 1,296 BBB complaints in three years and Washington State license restrictions on Mochi's own Kirkland compounding pharmacy Aequita.

Key Takeaways

  • Mochi Health charges a flat $99 per month for compounded semaglutide and $199 per month for compounded tirzepatide at every dose, plus a $79 per month membership. Total cost: $178 or $278 per month. No dose-escalation surcharge, which is the clearest advantage over Henry Meds' $100-per-tier step-up.2
  • The Washington State Department of Health placed license restrictions on Aequita, the Kirkland compounding pharmacy owned by Mochi Health, after whistleblowers alleged unlicensed day laborers handled patient medications and the facility used frozen children's popsicles instead of medical-grade ice packs for cold-chain shipping. KING 5 News broke the story on February 20, 2026.34
  • Mochi bills membership and medication as two separate auto-renewing subscriptions. Cancelling one does not cancel the other, and charges continuing after patients believe they have cancelled is the dominant BBB complaint theme. Mochi has publicly acknowledged the confusion and cited portal updates as remediation.12
  • BBB: B- letter grade, 1,296 complaints filed over the last three years, clustered around charges continuing after cancellation and the dual-subscription billing structure. Complaint volume is roughly seven times higher than Henry Meds' 192 complaints over the same period.7
  • No FDA warning letter directly to Mochi Health or Aequita as of April 23, 2026, verified against the FDA warning-letter database. State-level action has been the regulatory mechanism.8


Pros and cons at a glance

A scannable summary of what Mochi Health does well and what to weigh before signing up. Each point is expanded in the sections below.

Pros

  • Flat-rate medication pricing: $99 per month semaglutide or $199 per month tirzepatide at every dose, no titration surcharge
  • Total month-to-month cost of $178 per month for semaglutide, the cheapest standard-dose pricing among well-known compounded-GLP-1 telehealth providers
  • Twelve-month membership prepay drops effective cost to roughly $148 per month for semaglutide
  • Mochi's own public blog cites its Trustpilot profile at approximately 4 stars across 12,900+ reviews, one of the two deepest patient-feedback bases in the compounded-GLP-1 category
  • Board-certified obesity medicine provider panel per Mochi's own FAQ
  • HSA/FSA accepted; all 50 states served

Watch for

  • Washington State license restrictions on Aequita, Mochi's Kirkland compounding pharmacy, after whistleblower allegations of unlicensed workers and cold-chain shortcuts
  • Dual-subscription billing structure: membership and medication must be cancelled separately. Mochi has publicly acknowledged the confusion, and this is the dominant BBB complaint theme
  • 1,296 BBB complaints in three years, 6.75x Henry Meds' complaint volume
  • The $39 first-month advertised price is a promotional membership rate that does not include the medication, so patients who budget off it are under-counting by $99 to $199 per month
  • Current dispensing pharmacy not publicly disclosed. Ask at intake which partner pharmacy will fill your prescription and confirm it is not Aequita

What Mochi Health is and who uses it

Mochi Health is a cash-pay telehealth service that prescribes compounded GLP-1 weight-loss medications and ships them directly to patients, bypassing the retail pharmacy and insurance layer. The company launched February 16, 2022 and is operated by Mochi Health Corp, doing business as Mochi Medical West, at 333 Bush Street in San Francisco.7 Founder Dr. Myra Ahmad is an obesity-medicine physician who earned her MD at the University of Washington School of Medicine and remains the company's CEO.9

For a patient without GLP-1 insurance coverage, the model turns a $1,349-per-month Wegovy package into a $178 monthly charge, the cheapest standard-dose cash-pay rate in the category as of April 2026.10

The platform prescribes two GLP-1 treatment options, both as weekly subcutaneous injections per Mochi's own FAQ:1

  • Compounded semaglutide (weekly injectable)
  • Compounded tirzepatide (weekly injectable)

Prescriptions are written by independent US-licensed healthcare providers contracted through the platform, described by Mochi as "board-certified obesity medicine providers" with backgrounds spanning internal medicine, endocrinology, family medicine, bariatric surgery, and obstetrics and gynecology.1 The service is available in all 50 states, with HSA and FSA payment supported. Mochi does not bill insurance.

Company snapshot Mochi Health Corp (dba Mochi Medical West) launched February 16, 2022 and is based at 333 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94104. Patient support is reachable at (619) 648-1247. Founder and CEO Dr. Myra Ahmad, MD.7

What Mochi Health actually costs in 2026

This is the section that matters most, and the one where Mochi's pricing structure diverges most clearly from its competitors. Where Henry Meds raises prices with dose tiers, Mochi keeps medication pricing flat at every dose, which is a meaningful cost advantage for any patient who titrates up to a maintenance dose. The complication is the two-part subscription structure: patients pay one recurring charge for the membership and a separate recurring charge for the medication.

The $39 claim, and what it actually applies to

Mochi's homepage advertises a first-month rate of "$39/mo", down from the standard $79 per month.2 That $39 applies only to the membership portion and covers the first month. The medication itself, $99 per month for compounded semaglutide or $199 per month for compounded tirzepatide, is a separate charge that begins with the first shipment regardless of the membership promotion.2 A patient who budgets for "$39 to start" is under-counting the real first-month cost by $99 to $199.

The real first-month math with the promotion:

  • Semaglutide: $39 membership + $99 medication = $138 first month, then $178 per month ongoing
  • Tirzepatide: $39 membership + $199 medication = $238 first month, then $278 per month ongoing

Verified monthly pricing (April 2026)

The table below consolidates pricing published directly on Mochi's own marketing pages and cross-referenced with two independent reviewer accounts of the 2026 checkout flow. Individual patient quotes may vary with active promotions; confirm at intake.

Plan Membership + Semaglutide ($99) + Tirzepatide ($199)
Month-to-month (first month promo) $39 $138 total $238 total
Month-to-month (standard) $79/mo $178/mo $278/mo
3-month membership prepay $199 ($66/mo) ~$165/mo effective ~$265/mo effective
12-month membership prepay $589 ($49/mo) ~$148/mo effective ~$248/mo effective

Pricing compiled from Mochi Health's own public pricing and comparison pages, April 2026. Medication charges are separate from membership and apply uniformly across all dose levels (flat-rate). Only the membership tier is prepay-discounted; medication is billed monthly.2

Monthly GLP-1 Cost: Mochi Health vs Henry Meds vs Brand-Name (2026) Horizontal bar chart comparing 2026 monthly GLP-1 costs across Mochi Health tiers and alternatives. Insurance plus savings card: 25 dollars. Mochi Health 12-month prepay semaglutide: 148 dollars. Mochi Health month-to-month semaglutide: 178 dollars. NovoCare Direct Wegovy starter through June 2026: 199 dollars. Henry Meds month-to-month semaglutide: 297 dollars. NovoCare Direct Wegovy standard: 349 dollars. Mochi Health tirzepatide month-to-month: 278 dollars. Henry Meds tirzepatide month-to-month: 449 dollars. Ozempic retail list price: 1,028 dollars. Wegovy retail list price: 1,349 dollars. Monthly GLP-1 Cost in 2026: Mochi Health vs. Alternatives Insurance + savings card $25 Mochi Health sema (12-mo mbrshp prepay) $148 Mochi Health sema (month-to-month) $178 NovoCare Wegovy starter (intro) $199 Mochi Health tirz (month-to-month) $278 Henry Meds sema (month-to-month) $297 NovoCare Wegovy standard $349 Henry Meds tirz (month-to-month) $449 Ozempic retail list $1,028 $0 $300 $600 $900 $1,400 Mochi Health (compounded) Henry Meds (compounded) NovoCare (Wegovy) Insured Sources: Mochi Health pricing pages; Novo Nordisk direct pricing; HMI Henry Meds review (April 2026)
Monthly GLP-1 cost by path in 2026. Mochi Health sits between insured copay and NovoCare Direct cash-pay, and undercuts Henry Meds by roughly 40 percent at the month-to-month standard dose.

Why flat-rate dose pricing matters

Most compounded-GLP-1 providers raise the monthly price as the patient titrates to higher therapeutic doses. Henry Meds adds $100 per month per dose tier above its 1 mg starting dose.11 Patients who reach 1.7 mg or 2 mg for steady-state weight loss pay an extra $1,200 per year at the higher dose.

Mochi's pricing does not change with dose. The $99 per month for compounded semaglutide or $199 per month for compounded tirzepatide applies whether the patient is at a 0.25 mg starter dose or a 2.4 mg maintenance dose. Mochi's own marketing describes this as a policy of "no price increases when titrating up."2 For a patient planning a multi-year GLP-1 course, flat-rate pricing at maintenance doses is worth several hundred dollars per year compared with tiered-pricing competitors that step the monthly rate up each time the patient titrates.

What's included in the membership

Per Mochi's own marketing, the $79 monthly membership bundles unlimited video appointments and messaging with prescribing providers, nutrition-coaching sessions with dietitians, dose adjustments, side-effect management, insurance-coverage navigation, and 24/7 customer support.2 Free two-day medication shipping is described as included with the medication charge.

How Mochi Health compares to brand-name cost

At retail list, Wegovy runs $1,349 per monthly package and Ozempic $1,027 per fill.10 Mochi's $178 per month month-to-month for semaglutide is roughly 87 percent cheaper than Wegovy list. On a 12-month membership prepay at $148 per month effective, the savings against Wegovy list climb to 89 percent. Novo Nordisk's own NovoCare Pharmacy cash-pay channel prices Wegovy at $349 per month for standard doses; at that comparison, Mochi month-to-month is 49 percent cheaper. For patients who qualify for insurance coverage with a manufacturer savings card, insured copays as low as $25 per month still beat any compounded rate by an order of magnitude. For the full brand-by-brand breakdown, see our semaglutide cost guide.


The medications Mochi Health prescribes

Mochi Health's prescribing formulary is narrower than Henry Meds'. Per Mochi's own FAQ, the GLP-1 options are two injectable compounds:

  • Compounded semaglutide, weekly subcutaneous injection
  • Compounded tirzepatide, weekly subcutaneous injection

Mochi's FAQ describes both as "injected subcutaneously either into the stomach or thigh."1 Unlike Henry Meds, Mochi does not publicly offer oral compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide as standard product tiers on its public pricing pages. Brand-name options may be available via provider-written prescription but are not disclosed as standard product tiers; confirm at intake.

Medications are dispensed by what Mochi describes on its FAQ as "partner compounding pharmacies in all 50 states."1 The company does not publicly name its current pharmacy partners. Mochi's own Kirkland, Washington compounding pharmacy Aequita is covered in a separate section below.

Mochi's marketing language for compounded medications references partner pharmacies performing "their own stability testing."2 For background on the 503A and 503B regulatory category that governs compounded GLP-1 medications in general, see our what is compounded semaglutide explainer.


How the intake and shipping works

Per Mochi's public site, the patient experience runs in four stages:2

  1. Eligibility questionnaire covering weight history, current medications, and treatment goals.
  2. Video provider consultation, required at intake and typically conducted via Google Meet. Follow-up video visits are required roughly every six months, with ongoing messaging between visits.
  3. Pharmacy selection and prescription. If the provider determines treatment is appropriate, a prescription is written for a specific compounded formulation and dose, and the patient chooses among partner compounding pharmacies.
  4. Dispensing and shipping. Medication is shipped with two-day delivery; Mochi's homepage states "prescriptions can take up to 10 days for delivery" though most arrive faster.2

Cancellation on month-to-month plans is handled through a portal-based cancellation button. Mochi itself has acknowledged in a company blog post that the separate membership and medication subscriptions have not always been clearly communicated to patients, which means cancelling one does not automatically cancel the other.12


The Aequita pharmacy action, in plain English

This is the most material safety signal on Mochi Health, and it distinguishes this review from our Henry Meds review. On February 20, 2026, KING 5 News in Seattle published an investigation into Aequita, a compounding pharmacy in Kirkland, Washington that the report identified as owned by, and operating under pressure from executives at, San Francisco-based Mochi Health.3 The story was reported by Chris Ingalls and updated March 16, 2026 with a correction about Dr. Myra Ahmad's University of Washington graduation year.

The allegations, sourced to six former Aequita employees interviewed by KING 5 and to former lab manager Paul Meyers speaking on the record:

  • Unlicensed day laborers handled medications. Aequita's operations manager James Lindsay allegedly recruited temporary workers from Home Depot and Lowe's parking lots, per KING 5, and state records show at least one worker was paid $50 per day. Internal surveillance footage obtained by Washington State investigators showed a day laborer opening a refrigerator stocked with patient-labeled GLP-1 medications, access that state law restricts to licensed pharmacy staff only. "They were there pretty much all the time," Meyers told KING 5.3
  • "Glassgate." Whistleblowers' internal name for a cost-cutting practice in which Aequita ordered glassware from Alibaba, the Chinese e-commerce site, rather than from medical supply companies. Per KING 5, the substandard vials were "breaking and shattering" both in the pharmacy and during shipment to patients. Customers posted photos online of specks of contamination in their medication vials.3
  • Frozen children's popsicles used for cold-chain shipping. Instead of medical-grade ice packs, Aequita employees wrapped vials in frozen "Otter Pops" for shipping, per KING 5. The practice stopped only after "tons of complaints" and "negative online posts" from customers.3
  • Pressured pharmacists to verify vials in seconds. Meyers told KING 5 that pharmacists had "a second or two" to examine each vial under pressure to maximize shipping output.3
  • At least one reported patient hospitalization. Shawn Rose of Chicago documented his experience on TikTok after an injection of Mochi's GLP-1 drug left him hospitalized in January, per KING 5's reporting.3
Regulatory actions to date Whistleblowers filed complaints with the Washington State Department of Health in late 2024. The DOH conducted inspections, found violations, and placed restrictions on Aequita's license to compound drugs. In July 2025, Aequita's listed owner pharmacist Nathan Kenney signed an Agreed Order with the Washington DOH. Per Partnership for Safe Medicines reporting, the DOH issued a Notice of Immediate Jeopardy that effectively closed the facility, though the case remains under investigation. A follow-up report from Partnership for Safe Medicines on April 13, 2026 described new video footage of the raid showing imported peptide base powder stored in a space designated only for packaging materials, with Aequita's head of operations acknowledging the imported powder was "six to nine times cheaper" than domestic alternatives.3413

What this means for Mochi Health patients

The Aequita action is a pharmacy-level regulatory event, not a Mochi-wide FDA enforcement action. As of April 23, 2026, there is no FDA warning letter issued directly to Mochi Health or Aequita in the FDA warning-letter database.8 Washington State DOH has been the enforcement body.

Two facts patients should weigh directly:

  1. Mochi has diversified pharmacy partners away from Aequita. Mochi's own blog post on BBB response describes having "diversified pharmacy partners to improve fulfillment,"12 and independent reporting confirms Mochi continues to operate with other compounding pharmacies across the country. A new Mochi patient in April 2026 is unlikely to receive medication dispensed by Aequita.
  2. The allegations describe practices that predate the restrictions. Patients who received medication from Aequita during the late-2023-through-2025 period described in the KING 5 reporting may have received product from a facility later found to have quality-control violations. Whether a given patient's prior shipment was affected is not publicly determinable.

For any prospective patient, the question worth asking at intake is: which specific compounding pharmacy will fill my prescription, and will you identify the dispensing pharmacy on my prescription label? Mochi's current pharmacy partner roster is not publicly named on its website; patients can ask their prescribing provider directly.


What real Mochi Health users say

Independent review signals converge on a mixed picture: pricing and medical-care quality track positive; billing, cancellation, and shipping complaints track negative, with the pharmacy-level concerns adding a layer of weight.

Trustpilot: approximately 4 stars across 12,900+ reviews

Mochi Health's own company blog, in a post addressing its BBB complaints, cites its Trustpilot profile at "approximately 4 stars across 12,900+ reviews" and presents that figure as more representative of patient experience than BBB metrics alone.12 Direct access to Trustpilot's third-party page returned HTTP 403 during source verification for this review; the figure above reflects Mochi's own public disclosure. The review volume is comparable to Henry Meds' 12,320 reviews at 4.5 stars and is one of the two deepest patient-feedback bases in the compounded-GLP-1 category.

BBB: B- rating, 1,296 complaints in three years

The BBB profile for Mochi Health (Mochi Health Corp) carries a B- letter grade and is not BBB-accredited. The profile reports 1,296 complaints filed over the last three years.7 For context, Henry Meds' BBB profile shows 192 complaints over the same three-year window; Mochi's complaint volume is roughly 6.75 times higher, which tracks with Mochi's larger patient base but is still a denser complaint pattern per capita.

Complaint themes cluster in three areas, per the BBB and independent aggregation:7

  • Charges continuing after cancellation, typically tied to the dual-subscription structure (cancelling the medication while the membership auto-renews, or vice versa)
  • Refund refusals on disputed charges
  • Shipping and fulfillment delays

Representative complaint excerpts from the BBB profile:

BBB complaint excerpts "They continue to charge AFTER cancellation and REFUSE to refund!"

"They are a rip off company because their products don't work so when you cancel and they confirm on email, they continue to bill you."7

Mochi publicly acknowledged the complaint pattern in a company blog post that states the BBB "skews negative" and describes remediation including diversified pharmacy partners, real-time order tracking, 24/7 support, and portal updates explaining upfront membership costs.12

What the KING 5 and Washington State record adds

Beyond Trustpilot and BBB, the primary-source record on patient-facing quality includes KING 5's on-the-record whistleblower interviews at Aequita (covered in the Aequita pharmacy action section below) and the Washington State Department of Health's formal license restrictions. Those two records describe patient-facing outcomes (contamination in vials, shipping shortcuts, at least one TikTok-documented hospitalization) that do not typically surface in Trustpilot star ratings and that readers evaluating Mochi should weigh alongside the aggregate-rating signal.


What to watch before signing up

Five items are worth understanding in advance rather than after you've been billed.

The dual-subscription structure is the dominant complaint theme

Mochi has two separate recurring charges: the $79-per-month membership and the $99- or $199-per-month medication subscription. They renew and cancel independently. Cancelling the medication does not stop the membership billing, and vice versa. The company has publicly acknowledged this has not always been clearly communicated.12 Before signing up, confirm both renewal schedules and cancel each subscription explicitly via the portal, with written confirmation, if you want to stop.

Ask which pharmacy will fill your prescription

Mochi's current partner-pharmacy roster is not publicly named on its website. Given the Aequita Washington State action, patients should ask the prescribing provider at intake to identify the dispensing pharmacy on the prescription label. A reasonable ask is explicit confirmation that the dispensing pharmacy is not Aequita and is in good regulatory standing with its home state board of pharmacy.

The "$39" starter price does not include medication

The first-month $39 promotion applies only to the membership. The $99-to-$199 medication charge is separate. A patient who budgets for "$39 to start" is under-counting the real first-month cost by $99 to $199 per month.2

Shipping quality has been a consistent complaint

Independent reviewers and the KING 5 investigation both flagged packaging and cold-chain quality. Patients who receive medication with damaged vials, visible contamination, or warm packaging at delivery should document and contact the prescribing provider immediately, and should not use the medication without provider confirmation.


Mochi Health vs. the main alternatives

Pricing below reflects the real standard-dose month-to-month cost for the most common prescription (injectable compounded semaglutide) where disclosed. Compounded-GLP-1 telehealth pricing shifts frequently; confirm at intake.

Mochi Health Henry Meds Hims / Hers Ro NovoCare Direct
Real sema. injectable starting $178/mo total $297/mo $199/mo (advertised) $299/mo $199 intro / $349 std
Dose-escalation surcharge None (flat-rate) +$100/mo per tier Varies Varies n/a
Oral GLP-1 ✗ (injectable only) ✓ (sema + tirz) ✗ ✗ Rybelsus $149
Cancel anytime (M2M) ✓ (dual subscription) ✓ ✓ ✓ n/a
FDA-approved medication Compounded only Compounded only Compounded only Compounded only ✓ Wegovy, Rybelsus
BBB rating B- F varies by brand varies N/A
BBB complaints (3 yr) 1,296 192 varies varies N/A
State pharmacy action Yes (Aequita, WA) None published None published None published n/a
Years in business 4 (2022) 4 (2022) 8 (2018) 8 (2017) n/a

Category benchmarks compiled from each provider's public site, BBB profiles, and federal court dockets as of April 2026. Compounded-GLP-1 telehealth pricing and coverage change frequently.

The honest comparison: Mochi Health has the cheapest standard-dose month-to-month pricing in the category and the only flat-rate dose structure, which is material for any patient who expects to titrate to a maintenance dose. It also carries the highest BBB complaint volume and the only documented state-pharmacy regulatory action among well-known compounded-GLP-1 telehealth providers.

For patients who qualify for Wegovy coverage on insurance or want FDA-approved medication, NovoCare Direct cash-pay at $199 intro / $349 standard is the apples-to-apples comparison, not a compounded platform. See our semaglutide cost guide for the full breakdown.


Who Mochi Health is a good fit for

  • Budget-conscious patients without GLP-1 insurance coverage who want the lowest standard-dose compounded rate, are comfortable with the compounded-medication framework, and have read the Aequita section above.
  • Patients planning a multi-year maintenance-dose course who will benefit from flat-rate pricing that does not escalate with titration.
  • Patients willing to commit to a 12-month membership prepay to drive effective cost to roughly $148 per month for semaglutide, having read the dual-subscription cancellation terms carefully.
  • Patients who will ask up front which compounding pharmacy will dispense their prescription and confirm it is not Aequita.
  • Patients comfortable managing two separate subscriptions (membership and medication) and tracking both renewal dates.

Who should skip Mochi Health

  • Patients with commercial insurance that covers Wegovy, Ozempic, or Zepbound. Use the insurance. Copay with a manufacturer savings card can be as low as $25 per month, an order of magnitude below any compounded alternative.
  • Patients who want FDA-approved brand-name medication. NovoCare Pharmacy direct or LillyDirect is the cash-pay path to FDA-approved semaglutide or tirzepatide, not a compounded platform.
  • Patients who were shipped compounded GLP-1 from Aequita in 2024 or 2025 and have experienced unexplained adverse events. Consult your prescribing provider about the medication source before continuing treatment and report the event to the FDA's MedWatch program.
  • Patients who dislike auto-renewal billing or managing dual subscriptions. The complaint pattern is real and well-documented; readers prone to forgetting recurring charges should choose a provider with simpler cancellation.
  • Patients who want oral compounded GLP-1 options. Mochi offers injectable only; Henry Meds is the category option for oral semaglutide or oral tirzepatide.

Industry lawsuits, briefly

For readers tracking them: Mochi Health is defending two active federal lawsuits in the US District Court for the Northern District of California, one filed by Eli Lilly in April 2025 over compounded tirzepatide marketing (Case 3:25-cv-03534) and one filed by Novo Nordisk in August 2025 over compounded semaglutide and corporate practice of medicine (Case 5:25-cv-06563-VKD). Both are marketing and corporate-practice disputes rather than medication-safety actions, and similar suits are pending against most major compounded-GLP-1 telehealth providers including Hims, Ro, Henry Meds, Fella Health, and Willow Health Services. As of April 2026, no ruling has blocked Mochi's ability to dispense compounded GLP-1s to its patients. Court filings are the primary source for anyone tracking case progress directly.56


Frequently Asked Questions

Is Mochi Health legit?

Yes. Mochi Health is a legal, operating telehealth service founded February 16, 2022 by Dr. Myra Ahmad, MD, and headquartered in San Francisco as Mochi Health Corp. It has no FDA warning letters as of April 2026. Mochi's own public blog cites its Trustpilot profile at approximately 4 stars across 12,900+ reviews. The BBB gives it a B- letter grade on 1,296 complaints in three years, and Washington State has placed license restrictions on Aequita, the Kirkland-area compounding pharmacy owned by Mochi Health, following whistleblower allegations covered by KING 5 News in February 2026. Compounded medications from licensed US pharmacies are a separately regulated category, not FDA-approved finished products.

How much does Mochi Health actually cost per month?

Mochi uses a two-part pricing structure: a $79 per month membership plus separate flat-rate medication charges of $99 per month for compounded semaglutide or $199 per month for compounded tirzepatide at every dose. Total: $178 or $278 per month. Twelve-month membership prepay drops effective cost to about $148 per month for semaglutide. A first-month $39 promotional rate is advertised for the membership only; medication charges begin at first shipment regardless of the membership promo.

Does Mochi Health accept insurance?

No. Mochi does not bill insurance. It accepts HSA and FSA payments per its own FAQ. Patients can submit Mochi receipts for possible out-of-network reimbursement on their own, though most insurance plans separately exclude compounded medications from coverage regardless of provider.

What is the Aequita pharmacy situation?

Aequita is the Kirkland, Washington compounding pharmacy owned by Mochi Health. In late 2024, whistleblowers filed complaints with the Washington State Department of Health alleging that Aequita allowed unlicensed day laborers recruited from Home Depot and Lowe's parking lots to handle and package compounded GLP-1 medications, purchased substandard vials from Alibaba that broke during shipment, and used frozen children's popsicles instead of medical-grade ice packs for cold-chain shipping. KING 5 News in Seattle reported the story publicly on February 20, 2026. The Washington DOH placed restrictions on Aequita's compounding license, and Aequita's listed owner pharmacist Nathan Kenney signed an Agreed Order in July 2025. Mochi has since diversified to other compounding pharmacies.

Can you cancel Mochi Health anytime?

Month-to-month plans can be cancelled through the patient portal. The complication, which Mochi has publicly acknowledged, is that the membership and the medication are billed as two separate subscriptions that must be cancelled independently. The top BBB complaint theme is billing that continues after patients believed they had cancelled. Confirm both renewal schedules in writing at checkout.

What medications does Mochi Health prescribe?

Mochi prescribes compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide as weekly subcutaneous injections, per the company's own FAQ. Pricing is flat-rate: $99 per month for semaglutide and $199 per month for tirzepatide at every dose. Mochi does not publicly offer oral compounded GLP-1s as a standard product tier in the way Henry Meds does.

Why does Mochi Health have 1,296 BBB complaints?

The BBB assigns Mochi a B- letter grade and reports 1,296 complaints over three years. Complaints cluster around charges continuing after cancellation, the dual-subscription billing structure, and refund disputes. Mochi has publicly acknowledged the confusion and cited improvements in portal messaging and 24/7 support. The complaint volume is roughly seven times higher than Henry Meds' 192 complaints over the same three-year period.


The bottom line

Mochi Health earns a cautious recommendation for a narrow reader profile. The flat-rate compounded-semaglutide pricing at $99 per month across all doses, and compounded-tirzepatide pricing at $199 per month across all doses, is the cheapest standard-dose structure in the compounded-GLP-1 category, and the only structure that eliminates the dose-escalation surcharges Henry Meds and others layer on as patients titrate to maintenance doses. For a multi-year GLP-1 course at a maintenance dose, that pricing model is genuinely advantageous.

What keeps the rating at 3.0 rather than higher: the Washington State Department of Health action against Aequita, Mochi's own Kirkland compounding pharmacy, where whistleblowers described unlicensed day laborers handling patient medications, substandard vials from Alibaba, and frozen children's popsicles substituted for medical-grade ice packs. Add 1,296 BBB complaints in three years, six to seven times Henry Meds' volume, clustered on billing continuing after patients believed they cancelled the dual subscriptions.

If you decide to try Mochi Health, start on the month-to-month plan, not the 12-month prepay. Calendar both subscription renewal dates, medication and membership, and confirm cancellation of each separately in writing. Ask your prescribing provider which compounding pharmacy will fill your prescription and confirm it is not Aequita. If those terms work for you, Mochi offers the cheapest flat-rate compounded-GLP-1 pricing in the category. If any of them don't, Henry Meds is a more conservative option at higher price, or NovoCare Direct cash-pay if you want FDA-approved Wegovy.

Written By

RN

Rachel Nguyen, MS, RDN

Registered Dietitian Nutritionist

Rachel is a registered dietitian with over a decade of experience in nutrition policy and the economics of health. Her current editorial focus covers GLP-1 medications, obesity medicine, and the intersection of nutrition and pharmaceutical treatment. She holds a Master of Science in Nutrition from the University of North Carolina.

Expert Reviewer

KP

Dr. Kevin Park, PhD

Nutrition Education Specialist

Dr. Park is a nutrition education researcher focused on federal nutrition programs and dietary outcomes. His work has been published in the Journal of School Health and the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. He reviewed this article's nutrition and public-health content. Clinical decisions about GLP-1 therapy should be made with a licensed prescriber.

Sources

  1. Mochi Health. FAQ, Online Obesity Clinic. joinmochi.com/faqs. "Board certified obesity medicine providers" panel description; "injected subcutaneously either into the stomach or thigh" medication format; HSA/FSA acceptance ("Yes!"); "partner compounding pharmacies in all 50 states"; "Anywhere in the United States" service area. Retrieved .
  2. Mochi Health. Home and Comparison Pages. joinmochi.com and joinmochi.com/blogs/mochi-health-vs-hims-weight-loss-programs-compared. Membership "$79/mo" standard; "$39" first-month promotional; compounded semaglutide "$99/mo" flat; compounded tirzepatide "$199/mo" flat; 3-month membership prepay "$199"; 12-month membership prepay "$589"; "Unlimited video appointments + messaging" and "dose adjustments, side-effect management, nutrition guidance, and insurance coverage support" inclusions; "each of our partner pharmacies performs their own stability testing"; "Prescriptions can take up to 10 days for delivery" shipping language. Retrieved .
  3. Chris Ingalls, KING 5 News Seattle. Kirkland startup pharmacy hires unlicensed workers to handle GLP-1 medications, whistleblowers say. king5.com investigation. Published February 20, 2026, updated March 16, 2026. Aequita identified as compounding pharmacy with "parent company, San Francisco-based Mochi Health"; operations manager James Lindsay recruitment from "Home Depot and Lowe's parking lots"; day laborer in refrigerator accessing "patient-labeled medications"; "Glassgate" name from whistleblowers for Alibaba-sourced vials "breaking and shattering"; frozen "Otter Pops" cold-chain substitute; former lab manager Paul Meyers on-record quotes; customer Shawn Rose of Chicago hospitalization documented on TikTok; Washington DOH placed restrictions on Aequita's license; DOH investigation continues. Retrieved .
  4. Partnership for Safe Medicines. February 23, 2026: State investigates whistleblower allegations of unsafe GLP-1 drug handling at Mochi Health-affiliated pharmacy. safemedicines.org. Aequita identified as "owned by Mochi Health"; Washington Department of Health "Notice of Immediate Jeopardy"; Nathan Kenney signed "Agreed Order" July 2025; facility "remains under investigation." Retrieved .
  5. Courthouse News Service. Eli Lilly can proceed with lawsuit against telehealth seller of weight-loss drugs. courthousenews.com. Judge Jacqueline Scott Corley partially denied Mochi Health's renewed motion to dismiss; allowed Lilly to proceed on California Unfair Competition Law and federal Lanham Act claims; court order quotes on economic injury and reputational injury to FDA-approved tirzepatide medications. Retrieved .
  6. Novo Nordisk Inc. v. Mochi Health Corp, Mochi Medical CA P.C., and Mochi Medical P.A. Complaint, Case No. 5:25-cv-06563-VKD, US District Court Northern District of California, San Francisco Division. Filed August 4, 2025. Allegations: unlicensed corporate practice of medicine; false advertising regarding unapproved compounded semaglutide; Lanham Act violations; California consumer protection statute violations. Primary complaint document referenced via scribd.com. Retrieved .
  7. Better Business Bureau. Mochi Health Business Profile. bbb.org Mochi Health. B- letter grade; NOT BBB-accredited; 1,296 complaints in 3 years; legal name Mochi Health Corp; DBA Mochi Medical West; 333 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94104-2868; phone (619) 648-1247; business started 02/16/2022; BBB profile created 12/28/2023; complaint categories cancellation and refund issues; representative complaint excerpts. Retrieved .
  8. US Food and Drug Administration. Warning Letters Database. fda.gov warning letters. Direct search for "Mochi Health" and "Aequita" returns no results as of April 23, 2026. The FDA's February 20, 2026 batch of compounded-GLP-1 warning letters targeted Lean Rx / SkinnyRx, Strut Health, and Newman Clinic; Mochi Health and Aequita not named in that batch per the Little Health Law Blog summary. Retrieved .
  9. Dr. Myra Ahmad biographical references. joinmochi.com/blog-authors/myra-ahmad. MD, University of Washington School of Medicine (corrected graduation year per KING 5 editorial note March 16, 2026); former MIT researcher; undergraduate Wellesley College; founder and CEO of Mochi Health since February 2022. Retrieved .
  10. Novo Nordisk. Wegovy Cost and Coverage Information. wegovy.com. Wegovy list price $1,349.02 per package; NovoCare Pharmacy direct cash-pay $199 intro (0.25 and 0.5 mg) through June 30, 2026; $349 standard 0.25 to 2.4 mg pens; Ozempic list price $1,027.51 per fill per novocare.com/diabetes. Retrieved .
  11. Healthy Meals Incentives. Henry Meds Review 2026. healthymealsincentives.org/henry-meds-reviews/. Henry Meds' dose-escalation surcharge: "$100 per month for each dose tier above the standard starting dose" per independent reviewer accounts; 192 BBB complaints over three years; 12,320 Trustpilot reviews at 4.5 stars. Published .
  12. Mochi Health. Mochi Health BBB Reviews: How We Listen and Respond. joinmochi.com/blogs/mochi-health-bbb-reviews-how-we-listen-and-respond. Company blog post acknowledging that "BBB attracts escalations, so the mix can skew negative"; Mochi's stated Trustpilot figure of "approximately 4 stars across 12,900+ reviews"; stated remediation including diversified pharmacy partners, real-time order tracking, 24/7 support with AI-assisted triage, and portal updates explaining upfront membership costs. Retrieved .
  13. Partnership for Safe Medicines. April 13, 2026: New video shows Mochi Health-affiliated pharmacy's "corner cutting." safemedicines.org. March 2025 Washington DOH raid video released showing imported peptide base powder in packaging space; Aequita head of operations acknowledged imported powder "six to nine times cheaper" than domestic alternatives; Partnership for Safe Medicines executive director quoted. Retrieved .
Editorial disclaimer and disclosures Healthy Meals Incentives has no affiliate or financial relationship with Mochi Health, Mochi Health Corp, Aequita, or any competitor named in this article. The content here is general education, not medical advice. Prices, policies, regulatory status, and litigation status are approximate, current as of April 23, 2026, and change frequently; confirm at intake. Consult a licensed prescriber before starting, stopping, or changing any GLP-1 therapy. Patients who have experienced unexplained adverse events from compounded GLP-1 medications can report them to the FDA's MedWatch program. See our editorial policy for sourcing, review, and correction standards. To report an error, email editorial@healthymealsincentives.org.