Tirzepatide dosing for weight loss follows a fixed six-step ladder set by the FDA label: start at 2.5 mg once weekly, hold four weeks, then step up in 2.5 mg increments, 5 mg, 7.5 mg, 10 mg, 12.5 mg, to a maximum of 15 mg, with at least four weeks on each dose.1 The approved maintenance doses are 5 mg, 10 mg, or 15 mg. Every step has a clinical reason: the titration schedule exists to blunt gastrointestinal side effects while your body adapts to the drug.
This article walks the full dose ladder, pairs each step with the weight-loss result measured in the SURMOUNT-1 phase 3 trial, and covers what the label says about missed doses, the maximum dose, and choosing a maintenance dose. It does not cover diabetes dosing (Mounjaro has the same ladder but a separate label), pediatric dosing, or off-label dosing above 15 mg. For prescribing decisions, work with a licensed clinician.
Key Takeaways
- The starting dose is 2.5 mg once weekly for 4 weeks. The 2.5 mg dose is a tolerance-building dose, it is not FDA-approved as a maintenance dose.1
- After week 4, increase to 5 mg weekly, then step up in 2.5 mg increments every 4 weeks as tolerated: 7.5 mg, 10 mg, 12.5 mg, 15 mg.1
- Approved maintenance doses are 5 mg, 10 mg, or 15 mg once weekly. The maximum dose is 15 mg.1
- In SURMOUNT-1, mean weight change at 72 weeks was -15.0% at 5 mg, -19.5% at 10 mg, and -20.9% at 15 mg, vs -3.1% with placebo (N=2,539).2
- Reaching the 15 mg maximum dose takes at least 20 weeks of weekly injections, the same dose-escalation window used in SURMOUNT-1.2
- For missed doses: take the missed dose within 4 days (96 hours). If more than 4 days have passed, skip the dose and resume the weekly schedule.1
What is the tirzepatide dose schedule for weight loss?
Here is the complete Zepbound dose ladder as written in the FDA-approved label, published by Eli Lilly and Company and maintained in the DailyMed Structured Product Label (SPL) system.
| Week on Therapy | Weekly Dose | Label Role |
|---|---|---|
| Weeks 1–4 | 2.5 mg | Starter dose (not a maintenance dose) |
| Weeks 5–8 | 5 mg | First maintenance-eligible dose |
| Weeks 9–12 | 7.5 mg | Titration step (not a maintenance dose) |
| Weeks 13–16 | 10 mg | Second maintenance-eligible dose |
| Weeks 17–20 | 12.5 mg | Titration step (not a maintenance dose) |
| Week 21+ | 15 mg | Third maintenance-eligible dose · Maximum dose |
Source: Zepbound Full Prescribing Information, section 2.1 Recommended Dose Escalation Schedule and 2.2 Recommended Maintenance and Maximum Dosage.1 Minimum of 4 weeks on each dose before any increase.
What is the starting dose of tirzepatide?
Every patient starts at 2.5 mg once weekly, regardless of body weight, BMI, or indication. The FDA label is explicit on this point: "The 2.5 mg dosage is for treatment initiation and is not approved as a maintenance dosage."1 Four weeks at this dose is the minimum before any step up.
The 2.5 mg starter dose is not designed to produce significant weight loss. Its job is tolerance-building, letting the gastrointestinal system adapt to delayed gastric emptying, which is how tirzepatide produces the fullness signal that drives appetite reduction. Most patients see modest weight change in this window, and some see none. That is expected on-label behavior, not a sign the drug is not working.
Nausea, diarrhea, and constipation are the most common side effects at initiation. In SURMOUNT-1, most gastrointestinal adverse events were mild to moderate and concentrated during the dose-escalation period rather than after patients reached a steady maintenance dose.2 If side effects at 2.5 mg are severe, clinicians can hold at the starter dose longer before titrating up, or consider discontinuation rather than escalation.
When do you increase tirzepatide to 5 mg?
After four weeks at 2.5 mg, the label permits an increase to 5 mg once weekly. This is the first maintenance-eligible dose, meaning a patient could, in principle, stop titrating here and remain at 5 mg indefinitely if response and tolerability are acceptable.1
In SURMOUNT-1, 2,539 adults with obesity were randomly assigned to 5 mg, 10 mg, 15 mg tirzepatide, or placebo over 72 weeks. The mean percentage weight change at week 72 for the 5 mg group was -15.0% (95% CI, -15.9 to -14.2), compared with -3.1% with placebo. About 85% of patients on 5 mg lost at least 5% of body weight, versus 35% on placebo.2 For most patients, 5 mg is a real treatment dose, not a waystation.
How do you titrate tirzepatide from 5 mg to 15 mg?
After 5 mg, the label permits increases in 2.5 mg increments, to 7.5 mg, then 10 mg, then 12.5 mg, then 15 mg, with at least 4 weeks on each dose before the next step.1 This is the structured path from a modest starting dose to the therapeutic window where SURMOUNT-1 measured its largest effects.
7.5 mg and 12.5 mg are titration stops, not approved maintenance doses. The label specifies that only 5 mg, 10 mg, and 15 mg are approved as maintenance dosages for chronic weight management.1 That is why the SURMOUNT-1 trial tested 5, 10, and 15 mg arms, 7.5 mg and 12.5 mg exist to bridge the steps, not to land on long term.
The minimum-4-weeks-per-dose rule is firm. A prescriber cannot shorten it without deviating from the approved label, and clinical data to support a faster schedule in weight management does not exist. If side effects worsen during a titration step, the FDA label directs clinicians to consider a lower maintenance dose, stepping back down rather than pushing through.1
What are the tirzepatide maintenance doses?
Zepbound is approved for long-term use at three maintenance doses: 5 mg, 10 mg, or 15 mg once weekly.1 The label instructs prescribers to "consider treatment response and tolerability when selecting the maintenance dosage" and, for patients who cannot tolerate a higher maintenance dose, to "consider a lower maintenance dosage."
In practice, maintenance-dose selection is a conversation about diminishing returns. Moving from 5 mg to 10 mg added roughly 4.5 percentage points of weight loss in SURMOUNT-1 (-15.0% to -19.5%). Moving from 10 mg to 15 mg added only about 1.4 additional percentage points (-19.5% to -20.9%).2 The clinical question is whether that incremental weight loss is worth higher drug exposure and a higher rate of side effects at the top dose.
There is no obligation to reach 15 mg. Patients who achieve acceptable weight loss at 5 mg or 10 mg with manageable side effects can stay at that dose, which is why the label lists all three as approved options.
How much weight do people lose on each tirzepatide dose?
SURMOUNT-1 is the phase 3 trial that generated the weight-loss data now referenced across every tirzepatide dosing conversation. Published in the New England Journal of Medicine in July 2022, the trial randomized 2,539 adults with obesity (mean baseline weight 104.8 kg, mean BMI 38.0) in a 1:1:1:1 ratio to tirzepatide 5 mg, 10 mg, 15 mg, or placebo, with a 20-week dose-escalation period followed by 52 weeks of maintenance.2
| Maintenance Dose | Mean Weight Change at 72 Weeks | % With ≥5% Weight Loss | % With ≥20% Weight Loss |
|---|---|---|---|
| Placebo | -3.1% | 35% | 3% |
| 5 mg weekly | -15.0% | 85% | Not reported |
| 10 mg weekly | -19.5% | 89% | 50% |
| 15 mg weekly | -20.9% | 91% | 57% |
Source: Jastreboff AM et al. SURMOUNT-1 phase 3 trial, NEJM 2022; 387(3):205-216. All P<0.001 vs placebo.2 Percentages reflect the treatment-regimen estimand in the intention-to-treat population.
Two practical observations sit under this table. First, the 5 mg dose is not a placebo-level dose, 85% of patients on 5 mg lost 5% or more, a clinically meaningful threshold in obesity medicine. Second, the difference between 10 mg and 15 mg on percentage weight change is smaller than the step from 5 mg to 10 mg. The dose-response curve flattens as the dose climbs, which is part of why 10 mg can be a defensible maintenance target rather than a pass-through.
What happens if you miss a tirzepatide dose?
Missed doses happen. The FDA label provides a direct protocol: "If a dose is missed, instruct patients to administer ZEPBOUND as soon as possible within 4 days (96 hours) after the missed dose. If more than 4 days have passed, skip the missed dose and administer the next dose on the regularly scheduled day. In each case, patients can then resume their regular once weekly dosing schedule."1
- Within 4 days of missed dose: Take the dose as soon as possible, then resume your normal weekly injection day.
- More than 4 days late: Skip the missed dose. Take the next scheduled dose on its normal day.
- Either way: The weekly schedule stays anchored to the original injection day.
A different question is what happens when a gap stretches to weeks. The label does not specify an automatic restart protocol, but prescribers frequently recommend dropping back to a lower dose if several weeks are missed, because once-weekly steady-state exposure falls over that window, and restarting at the prior maintenance dose can reintroduce the same gastrointestinal side effects seen during initial titration. This is a clinical decision, not a label-mandated one.
What is the maximum tirzepatide dose?
The FDA label states the maximum dose plainly: "The maximum dosage of ZEPBOUND for all indications is 15 mg injected subcutaneously once weekly."1 There is no approved dose above 15 mg for chronic weight management, Type 2 diabetes (Mounjaro, same molecule), or obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity.
Compounded tirzepatide preparations dispensed at doses above 15 mg, for example, 17.5 mg or 20 mg, are not FDA-approved tirzepatide. They exist in a separate regulatory category for compounded medications, which narrowed significantly after the FDA declared the tirzepatide shortage resolved in December 2024 and a federal court denied a preliminary injunction on March 5, 2025. For the current legal and clinical status of compounded formulations, see our explainer on what compounded tirzepatide is.
Asking a prescriber to exceed 15 mg is asking for off-label or compounded dosing, it is not FDA-endorsed weight-management therapy, and the safety and efficacy data supporting it are substantially thinner than the data for the approved ladder.
What are the side effects of tirzepatide?
The reason the FDA mandates a structured 4-week-per-step ladder is that gastrointestinal side effects concentrate during dose escalation, not after a patient reaches steady state. Nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, and constipation are the most common tirzepatide adverse events, and SURMOUNT-1 reported they were mostly mild to moderate and concentrated during the 20-week dose-escalation period.2
Rates of treatment discontinuation due to adverse events in SURMOUNT-1 were:
- 5 mg tirzepatide: 4.3%
- 10 mg tirzepatide: 7.1%
- 15 mg tirzepatide: 6.2%
- Placebo: 2.6%
Source: SURMOUNT-1, NEJM 2022.2
The absolute discontinuation rates are low across all three active arms. The gap versus placebo is about 2 to 5 percentage points. Slower titration, lower maintenance doses, or temporary dose holds are standard clinical levers when side effects are the limiting factor rather than response.
How do you inject tirzepatide?
A few label-level specifics that come up often in clinical practice:
- Frequency and timing: Once weekly, at any time of day, with or without meals.1 The injection day stays anchored to your starting day, you do not shift it week to week.
- Injection sites: Subcutaneous injection in the abdomen, thigh, or upper arm. Tirzepatide pharmacokinetics are similar across the three sites.1 Rotating between sites reduces local skin reactions.
- Oral contraceptives: The label advises patients on oral hormonal contraceptives to switch to a non-oral method, or add a barrier method of contraception, for 4 weeks after starting Zepbound and for 4 weeks after each dose escalation.1 Delayed gastric emptying can affect oral drug absorption.
- Pre-procedure fasting: Tirzepatide delays gastric emptying, and rare postmarketing reports describe pulmonary aspiration during elective surgery or procedures requiring general anesthesia or deep sedation.1 Tell your surgical team you are on tirzepatide before any planned procedure.
- □ Week 4 complete at 2.5 mg, confirm with prescriber before titrating to 5 mg
- □ Week 8 complete at 5 mg, decide: stay at 5 mg (maintenance) or step to 7.5 mg
- □ Week 12 complete at 7.5 mg, titration step only, not a maintenance dose
- □ Week 16 complete at 10 mg, decide: stay (maintenance) or step to 12.5 mg
- □ Week 20 complete at 12.5 mg, titration step only
- □ Week 21+ at 15 mg, the maximum dose
- □ Missed-dose rule: within 96 hours = take it; beyond 96 hours = skip it
Frequently Asked Questions
How much tirzepatide should I take for weight loss?
The FDA-approved dosing starts at 2.5 mg weekly for 4 weeks, then increases to 5 mg. Most patients continue titrating in 2.5 mg steps every 4 weeks until they reach a maintenance dose of 5 mg, 10 mg, or 15 mg. The specific maintenance dose depends on weight-loss response and tolerability, in conversation with a prescriber.1
How long does it take to see weight loss on tirzepatide?
Some patients see modest weight change in the first 4 weeks at 2.5 mg, though the starter dose is not primarily a treatment dose. In SURMOUNT-1, meaningful weight loss accumulated across the 72-week trial, with the full -15% to -20.9% mean change measured at week 72. Four to twelve weeks is a common window for early response.2
Is 10 mg enough tirzepatide for weight loss?
For many patients, yes. 10 mg is an FDA-approved maintenance dose and produced a mean -19.5% weight loss at 72 weeks in SURMOUNT-1, with 89% of patients reaching 5% or more weight loss. The incremental benefit of 15 mg was about 1.4 percentage points of additional mean weight change, which some patients and prescribers decide is not worth the higher dose.2
What happens if I miss more than one tirzepatide dose?
If you are within 4 days of the missed dose, take it. Beyond 4 days, skip it and resume on your next scheduled day. If you miss several weeks, contact your prescriber, gastrointestinal tolerance can regress, and restarting at a lower dose with a shorter titration is a common clinical choice, though the label does not specify a restart protocol.1
Can I stop at a lower tirzepatide dose if it is working?
Yes. 5 mg, 10 mg, and 15 mg are all FDA-approved maintenance doses. The label directs prescribers to consider response and tolerability when choosing a maintenance dose, and explicitly permits stepping down if a higher maintenance dose is not tolerated. There is no clinical requirement to reach 15 mg.1
Can I increase my tirzepatide dose faster than every 4 weeks?
No. The FDA-approved label requires at least 4 weeks on each dose before any increase. The 4-week interval aligns with the time required to reach steady-state plasma tirzepatide concentrations. Faster titration is not studied, not approved, and not advised by the label, even if a prescriber offers to accelerate it.1
Does the dose schedule differ for Mounjaro and Zepbound?
No. Mounjaro (FDA-approved for Type 2 diabetes) and Zepbound (FDA-approved for chronic weight management and obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity) contain the same tirzepatide molecule at identical doses and follow the same 2.5 mg to 15 mg titration schedule. Cost, insurance coverage, and clinical indication differ, which is covered in our tirzepatide cost guide.
The Bottom Line
Tirzepatide dosing for weight loss is structured for a reason. The FDA ladder, 2.5 mg for 4 weeks, then stepping up in 2.5 mg increments every 4 weeks to a maximum of 15 mg, exists because gastrointestinal side effects concentrate during escalation, steady-state exposure takes 4 weeks to establish at each dose, and the approved maintenance options (5 mg, 10 mg, 15 mg) give prescribers three defensible landing points. SURMOUNT-1 measured real weight-loss effects at all three: -15.0%, -19.5%, and -20.9% at 72 weeks. Most of the benefit is captured by 10 mg; the step to 15 mg adds less than 1.5 percentage points on average.
Before starting, changing, or stopping tirzepatide, talk to a licensed prescriber. If cost is part of the decision, our pillar tirzepatide cost guide covers what patients actually pay across insurance, LillyDirect self-pay, and compounded pathways in 2026.
Written By
Rachel Nguyen, MS, RDN
Rachel is a registered dietitian with over a decade of experience in nutrition policy and the economics of health. Her current editorial focus covers GLP-1 medications, obesity medicine, and the intersection of nutrition and pharmaceutical treatment. She holds a Master of Science in Nutrition from the University of North Carolina.
Expert Reviewer
Dr. Kevin Park, PhD
Dr. Park is a nutrition education researcher focused on federal nutrition programs and dietary outcomes. His work has been published in the Journal of School Health and the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. He reviewed this article's nutrition and public-health content. Clinical dosing decisions about tirzepatide should be made with a licensed prescriber.
Sources
- Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound (tirzepatide) injection, for subcutaneous use, Full Prescribing Information. FDA-approved label, sections 2.1 Recommended Dose Escalation Schedule, 2.2 Recommended Maintenance and Maximum Dosage, 2.3 Recommendations Regarding Missed Dose, and 12.3 Pharmacokinetics. Structured Product Label (SPL) version 37, published March 3, 2026. DailyMed SPL setid 487cd7e7-434c-4925-99fa-aa80b1cc776b. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov. Retrieved .
- Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-1). New England Journal of Medicine. 2022 Jul 21;387(3):205-216. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2206038. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04184622. Abstract verified via pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35658024. Retrieved .
- Mayo Clinic. Tirzepatide (subcutaneous route), Description and Brand Names, Proper Use, Side Effects. mayoclinic.org. Clinically reviewed reference. Direct fetch returned 403 during session; citation based on metadata returned in SERP overview data (Ahrefs, April 2026) and label-concordance expectation. Readers should verify current Mayo Clinic guidance before a clinical decision.
- Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound for Health Care Professionals, Dosage Options, Schedules & Missed Doses. zepbound.lilly.com/hcp/dosage. Primary manufacturer HCP page. Automated retrieval blocked during session (HTTP 403); label-concordant content verified via the DailyMed SPL cited in source 1. Retrieved via SERP metadata, .
- US National Library of Medicine. DailyMed: ZEPBOUND (TIRZEPATIDE) INJECTION, SOLUTION, Structured Product Label. Eli Lilly and Company. Published March 3, 2026 (SPL version 37). dailymed.nlm.nih.gov. Authoritative source for the current FDA-approved Zepbound label. Retrieved .